

The first isolation and visualization of Ebola virus, 1976. The Ebola virus consists of four distinct subtypes: Zaire, Côte d'Ivoire, Sudan, and Reston. The first three subtypes have been identified to cause illness in humans. The Reston strain is highly pathogenic for non-human primates, but it has not to date caused illness in humans. (Micrograph from F. A. Murphy, Department of Pathology, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston.)